Skip to main content

The Wigan Connection

Wigan Athletic Football Club

Founded: 1932
[following dissolution of Wigan Borough (1919-1931), and previously Wigan County (1897-1900), Wigan United and Wigan Town (1905-1908)]
Ground History: 1932-1999 Sprinfield Park; 1999-date DW Stadium (previously known as JJB Stadium until 2009)

FA Premier League best season: 10th 2005/06
FA Cup Winners (1) 2012/13
Football League Cup Runners-Up 2006
Football League Trophy Winners (2) 1984/85[1], 1998/99[2]
Football League Championship (II) Runners-Up 2004/05
Football League Division Two (III) Champions 2002/03
Football League Division Three (IV) Champions 1996/97
Football League Division Four (IV) Third (promoted) 1981/82
FA Trophy Runners-Up 1972/73

League History:
Cheshire County League 1932/33-1946/47; Lancashire Combination 1947/48-1960/61; Cheshire County League 1961/62-1967/68; Northern Premier League 1968/69-1977/78; Football League 1978/79-2004/05; FA Premier League 2005/06-date.

European Record:
UEFA Europa League entrants 2013/14

Players to have won Northern Ireland Caps while with Wigan Athletic
Peter Kennedy. 11
Roy Carroll.... 9
Pat McGibbon... 2
Ian Nolan...... 1 
Jonathan Breeze U21
Hugh Dickson... U21

Other Wigan Athletic/Northern Ireland links:
Dave Campbell
Bobby Campbell
Billy Cook (manager)
Tony Diamond (U23, loan)
Keith Gillespie (loan)
Paul Gray (U21)
Bryan Hamilton (player/manager)
Phil Hughes
Norman Kelly (U21, loan)
Michael O'Neill
Darren Patterson
Danny Sonner (never played for first-team)
Noel Ward (called-up, but un-capped)
Danny Wilson

Ireland players who played for other Wigan-based clubs:
Andy Gara (Wigan County)
Peter Boyle (Wigan Town)
Pat Nelis (Wigan Borough)

[1] Bryan Hamilton managed Wigan when the defeated Brentford 3-1 in the 1985 Freight Rover Trophy final.
[2] When Wigan defeated Millwall in the 1999 Auto Windscreen Shield final they had three Northern Ireland internationals in their team (Roy Carroll, Pat McGibbon and Michael O'Neill)