Skip to main content


Showing posts from April, 2024

689: 8th June 2024

- 688 vs Denmark - 689 - 690 vs Andorra Friendly International SPAIN (ESP) - NORTHERN IRELAND (NIR) Venue: Son Moix Stadium, Palma de Mallorca Pre-Match: Marca Northern Ireland Squad: ( Irish FA ) Goalkeepers – Bailey Peacock-Farrell (Aarhus, on loan from Burnley), Conor Hazard (Plymouth Argyle), Pierce Charles (Sheffield Wednesday). Defenders – Jonny Evans (Manchester United), Jamal Lewis (Watford, on loan from Newcastle United), Daniel Ballard (Sunderland), Ciaron Brown (Oxford United), Conor Bradley (Liverpool), Trai Hume (Sunderland), Brodie Spencer (Huddersfield Town), Eoin Toal (Bolton Wanderers), Aaron Donnelly (Dundee, on loan from Nottingham Forest). Midfielders – Corry Evans (Sunderland), Jordan Thompson (Stoke City), Shea Charles (Southampton), Conor McMenamin (St Mirren), Paul Smyth (Queens Park Rangers), Isaac Price (Standard Liege), Ross McCausland (Rangers), Ethan Galbraith (Leyton Orient), Caolan Boyd-Munce (St Mirren). Forwards - Josh Magennis (Wigan Athletic), Dion Ch

Northern Ireland Schools International Kits

-  International Kits - Goalkeeper Kits - Irish League XI Kits - Schools' Kits For the 2023 Centenary Shield Northern Ireland's Under-18 Schoolboys' team took to the field in a Nike kit, possibly the first time a Northern Ireland XI has worn the US-brand. It also broke a two decade spell where the NISFA selected teams had worn the same kit (and badge) as the Irish FA's teams. Prior to 2004 the NISFA had utilised a range of kit manufacturers and also took advantage of the SAFIB's rules permitting shirt sponsorship, which were at odds with FIFA's usual competition requirements. - Pre-1980s The usual rugby-style jersey of the era was used by the Schoolboys' team through to the 1960s at least. The badge of the then- Irish Schools' Football Association was a rising sun motif.  1937/38 1947/48 1959/60 A new logo appeared, still in use today, featuring a red hand clasping a torch and surrounded by shamrocks was instroduced as the local

A Brief History of the Gibson Cup

Northern Ireland hosts the second oldest league competition in world football, the Irish Football League being founded in 1890. Only the English Football League (established in 1888) predates it while the Scottish Football League launched a week later. The English and Scottish champions are both awarded comparatively modern trophies; the English Premier League champions receiving the trophy introduced along with the "new" league in 1992/93, and the SPFL Premiership trophy was first awarded in 1999 to the winners of the then new SPL. But, while the NIFL is the third different body to have organised the senior league game within Northern Ireland, the trophy has remained the same since it was first awarded to the champions of an initially (notionally at least) all-Ireland competition. The origins of the Irish League trophy, the Gibson Cup , have long been widely misattributed. The history of Linfield FC claims that club president, and prominent linen mill owner, Robert Gibson h