Skip to main content


Northern Ireland Players Roll of Honour

Northern Ireland Players Roll of Honour

Recent posts

The Knock FC Connection

The legend goes that when John McAlery couldn't find anyone for his new football club, Cliftonville, to play he turned to Knock Lacrosse Club and suggested they form a football wing. Knock also seem to have fielded a rugby team around this time. Thence, Knock FC reportedly became Ireland's second football club and a match-up between Cliftonville and Knock was the first match on Irish soil between Irish teams. Founder members of the Irish Football Association in 1880, Knock moved into their new Bloomfield Ground in 1881. The following year were given the honour of hosting Ireland's first international, no doubt aided by the IFA's chairman, Jack Sinclair, also a player for Knock. Indeed, knock supplied five players for each of Ireland's first two internationals, more than any other club. Knock quickly began to fade from prominence. They enjoyed their last Irish Cup win in 1881/82, 4-0 over Malone. The following season they changed their name to Down Athletics and they

Cups, Ups & Downs 2023/24

Conor Bradley enjoyed an excellent breakthrough season with Liverpool. Although their title challenge faltered in the closing months he did claim a Carabao Cup win in February. ENGLAND Premier League Third Place [Champions League qualification]: Liverpool ( Conor Bradley ) Relegated: Sheffield United ( Oliver Norwood ) Championship Runners-Up : Ipswich Town ( Kieran McKenna , manager) Play-Offs: Southampton ( Shea Charles ), West Bromwich Albion ( Callum Marshall [loan]) Relegated: Rotherham United ( Shane Ferguson, Ciaran McGuckin ); Huddersfield Town ( Brodie Spencer ) League One League One champions Portsmouth featured Paddy Lane (pictured), Gavin Whyte and Terry Devlin among their squad Champions: Portsmouth ( Gavin Whyte, Terry Devlin, Paddy Lane ) Runners-Up: Derby County ( Conor Washington, Darren Robinson ) Play-Offs: Bolton Wanderers ( Dion Charles, Eoin Toal ); Oxford United ( Ciaron Brown ) Relegated: Carlisle United ( Alfie McCalmont ); Fleetwood Town ( Carl Johnston, Steph

Transfers Summer 2024

  Transfers Luke Conlan will play for Cliftonville next season Transfers Seanan Clucas (Glentoran to Carrick Rangers)  BBC Jordan Stewart (Linfield to Crusaders) BBC Rhys Marshall (Glentoran to Glenavon) BBC Luke Conlan (AFC Flyde to Cliftonville) Daniel Finlayson  (Linfield to Livingston) BBC Shay McCartan  (Glentoran to Portadown)  BBC   BBC Robbie Garrett  (Glenavon to Bangor) Jack O'Mahoney (Coleraine to Ballymena) Seanan Clucas (Glentoran to Carrick Rangers) Nathan Gartside (Cliftonville to Loughgall) Conor McDermott (Coleraine to Loughgall) Josh Carson (Coleraine to Ballymena) Coleraine Chronicle Kofi Balmer (Crystal Palace to Motherwell) BBC Luke McCullough  (Glentoran to Carrick Rangers) BBC Chris Conn-Clarke (Altringham to Peterborough United) BBC Kyle McClelland (Hibernian to Coleraine) loan CFC Daniel Lafferty (Institute to Ballymena) NewsLetter Luke Southwood (Cheltenham Town to Bolton Wanderers BBC   Bobby Burns  (Glentoran to Galway United)  BBC   BBC Josh Magennis 

Orbis Football 1990

Orbis were a publisher of "partworks" from the 1970s-1990s. Their two main football issues were for the 1990 World Cup and the one featured here, UK Football 1990-1991. Ring binders could be completed with pages on a feature of the game or players as well as with Panini-style stickers... Goalkeepers - Full-Backs Defenders - Midfielders Wingers Strikers Managers - Record Breakers Martin O'Neill Norwich City

689: 8th June 2024

- 688 vs Denmark - 689 - 690 vs Andorra Friendly International SPAIN (ESP) - NORTHERN IRELAND (NIR) Venue: Son Moix Stadium, Palma de Mallorca Pre-Match: Marca Northern Ireland Squad: ( Irish FA ) Goalkeepers – Bailey Peacock-Farrell (Aarhus, on loan from Burnley), Conor Hazard (Plymouth Argyle), Pierce Charles (Sheffield Wednesday). Defenders – Jonny Evans (Manchester United), Jamal Lewis (Watford, on loan from Newcastle United), Daniel Ballard (Sunderland), Ciaron Brown (Oxford United), Conor Bradley (Liverpool), Trai Hume (Sunderland), Brodie Spencer (Huddersfield Town), Eoin Toal (Bolton Wanderers), Aaron Donnelly (Dundee, on loan from Nottingham Forest). Midfielders – Corry Evans (Sunderland), Jordan Thompson (Stoke City), Shea Charles (Southampton), Conor McMenamin (St Mirren), Paul Smyth (Queens Park Rangers), Isaac Price (Standard Liege), Ross McCausland (Rangers), Ethan Galbraith (Leyton Orient), Caolan Boyd-Munce (St Mirren). Forwards - Josh Magennis (Wigan Athletic), Dion Ch

Northern Ireland Schools International Kits

-  International Kits - Goalkeeper Kits - Irish League XI Kits - Schools' Kits For the 2023 Centenary Shield Northern Ireland's Under-18 Schoolboys' team took to the field in a Nike kit, possibly the first time a Northern Ireland XI has worn the US-brand. It also broke a two decade spell where the NISFA selected teams had worn the same kit (and badge) as the Irish FA's teams. Prior to 2004 the NISFA had utilised a range of kit manufacturers and also took advantage of the SAFIB's rules permitting shirt sponsorship, which were at odds with FIFA's usual competition requirements. - Pre-1980s The usual rugby-style jersey of the era was used by the Schoolboys' team through to the 1960s at least. The badge of the then- Irish Schools' Football Association was a rising sun motif.  1937/38 1947/48 1959/60 A new logo appeared, still in use today, featuring a red hand clasping a torch and surrounded by shamrocks was instroduced as the local