Skip to main content


Showing posts from June, 2021

Northern Ireland's in Welsh Cup Finals and Premier League

- - English Cup - Scottish Cup - Welsh Cup - FAI Cup - - Northern Ireland Players in the Welsh Cup Founded for the 1877/78 season, the Welsh Cup is the third oldest national knock-out competition in world football, with the trophy the second oldest in continuous use (after the Scottish Cup). From its earliest days, the competition was supplemented by teams from across the English border ( + ), and was dominated by the Welsh clubs playing within the English league pyramid until they were barred in 1995 following a UEFA diktat. Season Winners Runners-Up 1920/1 Les Murphy Wrexham     1921/2 Bert Smith Cardiff 1922/3 Tom Farquharson Cardiff     Bert Smith     1926/7 Tom Farquharson Cardiff Sam Irving Tom Sloan

Northern Ireland's League Champions

(Northern) Ireland players to have earned winner's medals (or appeared for a title winning team) in each of English football's top four divisions. The assumption has been made that a player is only awarded a medal if they played in 25% of the games in a title winning season. Exceptions are often made that can allow other squad members to be given a medal, but these are not reflected here. KEY NI Full International NI capped at other level or called-up to full squad NI-born but uncapped Earned medal (played 25%+ of games) Didn’t earn medal (played less than 25% of games) Level I II III IV - Football League       1888/9 Preston N.E.       Goodall, Archie [2/1]       1889/0 Preston N.E. (2)