Skip to main content


Showing posts from October, 2021

(Northern) Ireland Players in the FAI Cup Final

- English Cup - Scottish Cup - Welsh Cup - FAI Cup - This FAI Cup trophy was replaced in 2007 The Irish Free State Cup (now the FAI Cup ) was the first major domestic competition founded by the fledgeling Football Association of Ireland. Prior to partition, clubs from "southern" Ireland had competed in the Irish Cup.  Liam Coyle played in five finals, winning it three times Two Dublin-based teams had previously won the Irish Cup, Shelbourne (3 times) and Bohemians (once).  Two clubs based within Northern Ireland have won the FAI Cup, Belfast-based Alton United and Derry City (6 times). To date, 33 players capped at senior level by the Irish FA have won the FAI Cup at least once, with Liam Coyle and Paddy Moore the most successful with three wins each. In addition, listed below, are winners capped at Amateur, Victory or Under-21 level, along with players included in Northern Ireland senior squads. Player Caps Club(s) Finals Wi