12 April 2009

28 May 1922

28th May 1922


Venue: Gressbanen van Holmen, Kristiania*
Referee: Ragnvald Smedvik (Frigg, NOR)
Goals: NOR: Hegmander; IRE: Dalrymple 2, McCracken

Trainer: Hugh Tanner (Distillery)
Captain: “Dick” McCracken
Alfred Ireland Harland (Linfield F& AC Belfast) --
Andrew McCluggage (Cliftonville FC Belfast)
John Joseph Curran (Glenavon FC Lurgan) --
Richard McCracken (Linfield F& AC Belfast)
Gerald Francis Morgan (Linfield F& AC Belfast)
David Jordan Addis (Cliftonville FC Belfast) --
Hamilton McKenzie (Distillery FC Belfast)
Thomas Croft (Queen’s Island FC Belfast)
John Dalrymple (Distillery FC Belfast)
William McCleery (Cliftonville FC Belfast)
Hugh Leggett Meek (Glentoran FC Belfast)

Vestfold Province:
Captain: Emil HansenKr Falkenberg (FK Orn Horten) --
Joh O. Gaarder (Ski og FK Lyn Kristiana)
Kr Johnsen (FK Orn Horten) --
Jacob Berner (Ski og FK Trygg Kristiana)
Emil Hansen (FK Orn Horten)
Fritz Amundsen (FK Orn Horten) --
Olaf Hegnander (Ski og FK Trygg Kristiana)
Leif Tandberg (Ski og FK Trygg Kristiana)
Kjell Nilsen (Ski og KB Drafn Drammen)
I. Pedersen (FK Orn Horten)
G. Fredriksen (FK Orn Horten)

A. McCluggage, G. Morgan, A. Harland, D. Addis, J. Curran
T. Croft, H. Meek, W. McCleery
H. McKenzie, R. McCracken, J. Dalrymple
(courtesy of NI Football Museum)
This was a match played between the Ireland Team and a Norwegian Provincial Team.
A full international was played between Ireland and Norway three days earlier.

* Kristiania is now called Oslo.

By George Glass

See Also:

No comments:

Who was Northern Ireland's Greatest World Cup Player & Team? (select up to eleven players)

© NIFG 2006-2015