Skip to main content

Cups, Ups & Downs 2023/24


Conor Bradley enjoyed an excellent
breakthrough season with Liverpool.
Although their title challenge faltered
in the closing months he did claim a
Carabao Cup win in February.
Premier League

Third Place [Champions League qualification]: Liverpool (Conor Bradley)

Relegated: Sheffield United (Oliver Norwood)


Runners-Up: Ipswich Town (Kieran McKenna, manager)

Play-Offs: Southampton (Shea Charles), West Bromwich Albion (Callum Marshall [loan])

Relegated: Rotherham United (Shane Ferguson, Ciaran McGuckin); Huddersfield Town (Brodie Spencer)

League One

Champions: Portsmouth (Gavin Whyte, Terry Devlin, Paddy Lane)

League One champions
Portsmouth featured
Paddy Lane (pictured),
Gavin Whyte and Terry
Devlin among their squad

Runners-Up: Derby County (Conor Washington, Darren Robinson)

Play-Offs: Bolton Wanderers (Dion Charles, Eoin Toal); Oxford United (Ciaron Brown)

Relegated: Carlisle United (Alfie McCalmont); Fleetwood Town (Carl Johnston, Stephen McMullan); Cheltenham Town (Luke Southwood)

League Two 

Champions: Stockport County (Callum Camps)

Play-Offs: MK Dons (Phoenix Scholtz); Doncaster Rovers (Caolan Lavery)

Relegated: Forest Green Rovers (Charlie McCann)

Will Grigg scored 25 times as
Chesterfield won the Vanarama
National League
National League

Champions: Chesterfield (Will Grigg)

Play-Offs: Altrincham (Joey Jones)


Winners: Liverpool (Conor Bradley)

EFL Trophy

Runner-Up: Wycombe Wanderers (Dale Taylor)


Ross McCausland established
himself in the Rangers first-
team as they challenged Celtic
for the title. He claimed a Via-
Play Cup winner's medal in just
his 14th appearance

Champions [Champions League Qualification]: Celtic (Brendan Rodgers manager)

Runners-Up [Champions League Qualification]: Rangers (Ross McCausland)

Europa League Qualification: Hearts (Liam Boyce, Michael McGovern); Kilmarnock (Brad Lyons, Kyle Vassell, Matty Kennedy, Liam Donnelly)

Europa Conference Qualification: St Mirren (Stephen Robinson manager, Conor McMenamin, Caolan Boyd-Munce)

Relegated: Livingston (Michael McGovern [loan])

Premiership Play-Off: Airdrie (Liam McStravick)


Champions: Dundee United (Sam McClelland [loan]); 

Championship Play-Off: Inverness Caledonian Thistle (Billy McKay)

League One

League One Play-Off: Alloa Athletic (Euan Deveney, Ally Roy [loan])

Scottish Cup

Final: Celtic vs Rangers

League Cup

Winners: Rangers (Ross McCausland)

Challenge Cup

Winners: Airdrie (Liam McStravick)

Runners-Up: TNS [WAL] (Rory Holden, Ryan Brobbel)

Youth Cup

Winners: Rangers (Mason Munn, Blaine McClure, Callum Burnside)



Champions: Larne (Paul O'Neill, Lee Bonis)

Runners-Up: Linfield (David Healy manager; Chris Johns, Daniel Finlayson, Ben Hall, Kirk Millar, Joel Cooper, Jamie Mulgrew, Robbie McDaid, Chris McKee, Kyle McClean)

European Play-Off Winners: Crusaders (Jonny TuffeyRobbie Weir, Philip Lowry, Ben Kennedy, Jordan Owens)

Relegated: Newry City

Ex-international colleagues Jim Magilton (Cliftonville)
and David Healy (Linfield) led their teams to the Irish
Cup Final. Magilton's team (in his first season) won the
trophy for the first time in 45 years. Healy also tasted
disappointment in the League as runner-up to Larne,
but did claim a third NIFL Cup win. 
Irish Cup

Winners: Cliftonville (Jim Magilton, manager, Sean Stewart, Nathan Gartside, Shea Gordon)

Runners-Up: Linfield (David Healy, manager, Chris Johns, Daniel Finlayson, Jamie Mulgrew, Ben Hall, Kirk Millar, Kyle McClean, Joel Cooper, Chris McKee, Jordan Stewart)


Winners: Linfield (David Healy, manager ...)

Runners-Up: Portadown ()

Co Antrim Shield

Winners: Larne (Lee Bonis)

Mid-Ulster Cup

Winners: Portadown

North West Cup

Winners: Limavady United