Skip to main content

608: 24 March 2016

International Friendly
Thursday, 24th March 2016

(courtesy of David Currie)
Venue: Cardiff City Stadium, Cardiff
Referee: Steven McLean (SCO)
Assistant Referees: S. Carr (SCO), S. Stevenson (SCO)
Fourth Official: D. John (WAL)
Goals: WAL: Church 89 (pen); NIR: Cathcart 60

NORTHERN IRELAND: (white shirts, green shorts, white socks)
Manager: Michael O'Neill
Captain: Steven Davis
3-5-2: M. McGovern; C. McLaughlin [A. Hughes 81], C. Cathcart, G. McAuley, J. Evans [D. Lafferty 73], P. McNair [P. Paton 73], O. Norwood, S. Davis, C. Washington [J. Ward 46], K. Lafferty [B. McKay 81], S. Dallas [S. Ferguson 89]
Subs: R. Carroll (gk), T. Carson (gk); N. McGinn, L. Hodson, M. Smith

WALES: (red shirts, white shorts, red socks)
Manager: Chris Coleman
Captain: Ashley Williams
W. Hennessey [D. Ward 46]; C. Gunter, A. Matthews, D. Vaughan [J. Allen 71], J. Chester, A. Williams, G. Williams  [L. Isgrove 62], D. Cotterill, S. Vokes [S. Church 76], T. Lawrence [J. Williams 62], J. Ledley [A. Crofts 46]
Subs: O.F. Williams (gk); A. Henley, A. Williams, S. MacDonald, E. Hues, N. Taylor

Steven Davis (capt), Michael McGovern, Jonny Evans, Gareth McAuley, Craig Cathcart, Stuart Dallas, Paddy McNair, Oliver Norwood, Conor McLaughlin, Conor Washington, Kyle Lafferty (Roy Cathcart)
The teams pay tribute to the 22nd Match terrorist attack on Brussels (Roy Cathcart)
Match Programme/Ticket/Teamsheet:
(the Official Panini UEFA Euro 2016 sticker album was released the day of this match)

Match Highlights:

Match Reports:

Goalkeepers: Roy Carroll (Notts Co.), Michael McGovern (Hamilton Academical), Alan Mannus (St Johnstone), Trevor Carson* (Huddersfield Town)
Defenders: Aaron Hughes (Melbourne City), Gareth McAuley (West Brom), Jonny Evans (West Brom), Craig Cathcart (Watford), Lee Hodson (MK Dons/Kilmarnock (l)), Conor McLaughlin (Fleetwood Town), Daniel Lafferty (Burnley), Luke McCullough (Doncaster Rovers), Paddy McNair (Man United), Michael Smith (Peterborough United)
Midfielders: Steven Davis (Southampton), Niall McGinn (Aberdeen), Oliver Norwood (Reading), Shane Ferguson (Millwall), Stuart Dallas (Leeds United), Paul Paton* (Dundee United)
Forwards: Kyle Lafferty (Norwich City/Birmingham City (l)), Jamie Ward (Nottm Forest), Josh Magennis (Kilmarnock), Billy McKay (Wigan Athletic/Dundee United (l)), Liam Boyce (Ross Co.), Conor Washington (QPR)
* late call-up

Irish FA


Northern Ireland equal their longest unbeaten run of nine games, previously achieved in 1979-80 and 1985-86.