Skip to main content

Northern Ireland Players in the Scottish Premiership

The Scottish Professional Football League Premiership was formed in 2013 when the Scottish Premier League (SPL, founded 1998) "re-merged" with the Scottish Football League (founded 1890) to once again form a single governing body for senior league clubs in Scotland, the Scottish Professional Football League (SPFL). All four divisions within the league structure were re-branded, with the Premiership as the top level with the Championship, League 1 and League 2 beneath.

The following Northern Ireland players have featured in the Premiership to date...

Liam Boyce (Ross County)
Conor Brennan (Kilmarnock)
Sammy Clingan (Kilmarnock)
Ben Hall (Motherwell)
Josh Magennis (Aberdeen, St Mirren, Kilmarnock)
Alan Mannus (St Johnstone)
Niall McGinn (Aberdeen)
Ryan McGivern (Hibernian)
Ryan McLaughlin (Aberdeen)
Michael McGovern (Hamilton Academical)
Billy McKay (Inverness Caledonian Thistlem Dundee Unired)
Rory McKeown (Kilmarnock)
Brian McLean (Ross County)
James McPake (Hibernian, Dundee)
Paul Paton (Dundee United)
Jamie Sendles-White (Hamilton Academical)
Ivan Sproule (Ross County)
Chris Turner (Hamilton Academical)
Jude Winchester (Kilmarnock)


See also:
NI Players in the SPL
NI Players in the English Premier League
NI Players in the UEFA Champions League
NI Players in the UEFA Europa League
NI Players in the NASL and MLS
NI Players in the Scottish Cup Final
NI Players with 20+ Goals in a Scottish League Season