13 August 2007

Nigel's First Squad

From IrishFA.com

NIGEL Worthington has named a 21 man squad for the game against Liechtenstein on August 22.

Fulham defender Aaron Hughes has been forced to withdraw from the squad due to injury. The 27-year-old picked up an ankle injury in training prior to the start of the new season.

As expected West Ham United's George McCartney has been called up. The 26-year-old who has 20 international caps and one goal, last played for Northern Ireland in 2005.

Northern Ireland squad:
Goalkeepers: Maik Taylor (Birmingham City); Roy Carroll (Rangers); Alan Mannus (Linfield).
Defenders: Michael Duff (Burnley); Chris Baird (Fulham); Gareth McAuley (Leicester City); Stephen Craigan (Motherwell); Jonathan Evans (Manchester United); Tony Capaldi (Cardiff City); George McCartney (West Ham United).
Midfielders: Damien Johnson (Birmingham City); Keith Gillespie (Sheffield United); Steven Davis (Fulham); Sammy Clingan (Nottingham Forest); Chris Brunt (Sheffield Wednesday - now West Bromwich Albion); Steve Jones (Burnley); Grant McCann (Barnsley).
Forwards: Warren Feeney (Cardiff City); David Healy (Fulham); Kyle Lafferty (Burnley); Ivan Sproule (Bristol City).


(19 August) Jonny Evans and Damien Johnson have withdrawn from the squad due to injury. They have been replaced be Sean Webb (Ross County) and Stuart Elliott (Hull City),

(20 August) In the absense of regular captain Aaron Hughes through injury, Chris Baird will lead his country for the first time.

(21 August) Tony Capaldi has also withdrawn from the squad due to a hip injury. The news makes it even more liklely that George McCartney will make his Northern Ireland comeback as starting left-back.

See Also: Current Squad

No comments:

Who was Northern Ireland's Greatest World Cup Player & Team? (select up to eleven players)

© NIFG 2006-2015